Movie Review: The Amazing Spider-Man 2

“I once told you that secrets have a cost. The truth does too.”

–  Aunt May, “Amazing Spider-Man 2”

 

“Impossible,” my veteran readers whisper to themselves as they see the title of this post. “His movie reviews are always ridiculously late. They’re never on time, let alone early. He must be a Time Lord.”

You got me, guys. After nearly two years of wondering who I am or what I look like, it’s finally revealed: I’m Doctor Who.

Real-life photo of me! (Okay, not really).

Real-life photo of me!

Just kidding.

Anyway, due to the lucky combination of an advance screening plus a light homework night, I’m able to write this movie review a few days before the film hits theaters. For that reason, I’ve made sure to keep it spoiler-free.

For anyone unfamiliar with the franchise: After the debacle that was Spider-Man 3 in 2007, Hollywood decided to let the series simmer down for a few years, then rebooted it in 2012 with The Amazing Spider-Man. Most of the comic book fans were pleased enough that a sequel was thrown in the works, and now, here we are.

In the first film, we saw Peter embrace his alter-ego and fight Dr. Curt Connors, AKA the Lizard. Now, we get to see him up against two new villains: Electro and the Green Goblin.

When I heard that, I yawned at the first one but got excited over the second. The Goblin has always been my personal favorite of Spidey’s foes.

Which is why I was slightly disappointed by this movie. While it improves on several things from the first, villain selection isn’t really one of them. The character development of Electro literally begins and ends with his name. 

Still, my eyes were on the prize: Green Goblin. Finally, right? I couldn’t wait for them to introduce Harry, develop a complex friendship between him and Peter, and put that to the test when the alter-egos kick in.

And now, having seen the movie, I’m picturing the screenwriters sitting back in their meeting room chuckling to themselves. “Oh, you wanted the Goblin to be a big part of the story? Mm, looks like you’ll have to wait a few more movies for that to happen. Oh and, screw you.”

I suppose that’s my biggest irk towards the film: out of the two villains, it picks the awesome one and gives him minimal screen time/development backstory, and the main antagonist isn’t even cool.

But let’s move on. Other points of the movie: well, like I said, if you enjoyed the first one, everything in that is pretty much done here too, except slightly better. We do learn a little more about Peter’s parents, which is satisfying. Gwen has more screen time, and I appreciate how her story role plays out.

Honestly, there’s not too much wrong with this movie, except that most of its action scenes are unrealistic to the point of being redonkulous.

I think the only reason I didn’t enjoy the film too much is because it’s just like the first: an unnecessary reboot to a franchise that should’ve been left alone for a few more years, in my opinion. If you’re one of those people who agrees with me, you might find this movie a bit useless. If you loved the first one, you’ll love the second even more. Either way, Amazing Spider-Man 2 probably won’t change anyone’s minds.

One last major issue I have with the movie is the ending. I could forgive the hackneyed plot for the bulk of the runtime (which at 140 mins is a bit too long), but the final scene turned out to be the straw that broke the cinematic camel’s back in my case. The filmmakers had such a good thing going with an ending montage, and I was just starting to get emotional. Then one last villain entered the stage in a pointless setup for the sequel, and he let out a laugh so spectacular that it nearly drowned out my own.

Overall, this movie for me was just kinda, eh. If you liked the first one, then go crazy; you’ll be happy. If you think this reboot is slightly unnecessary, as I do, then this certainly won’t sway your opinion.

Hey, at least Peter finally stops using Bing in this one.

Rate: 5 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

