High School vs. College: Intro

“Sometimes the hardest part isn’t letting go but rather learning to start over.”

–  Nicole Sobon

 

Well, hi! I think I’m off to a good start down the whole ‘I’ll barely be posting now’ path, seeing as I only went twelve days between my last write-up and this one.

Considering my new shiny armor of inconsistency, you’d probably be skeptical if I said I was going to try to start up anything with any sort of structure on this blog. But, I am.

From the start of this blog up until around March of 2013, I kept up a steady stream of “On Writing” posts. These were meant to be a more or less series of articles intended to map out the process of writing a book, start to finish. Soon after came the spin-off series, “On Publication.”

I still make entries to both occasionally, but I’ve about emptied my brain at this point. Rest assured if I ever get further in the publication process, I’ll write new posts accordingly. But for now, I want to start up a new series, which I really should’ve done earlier.

(Drumroll)

High school…versus College.

This is going to be fun, I promise.

Maybe even helpful, especially to anyone still in high school. I know all throughout my senior year, I wondered, what on Earth is my life going to be like a year from now, when I’m starting college? I couldn’t imagine it. And yet here I am, same old me.

So! How this is going to work: Whenever I make a new entry in this post series, “High School versus College,” I’ll pick a topic to be featured in that particular post. I’m thinking the first one will be Homecoming, since I just finished mine last week, but I’ll decide later. I’ll then spend the post breaking down the similarities and differences between how this topic goes in high school vs. college.

Then, at the end of the post, I’ll declare a winner. Woo!

I know I haven’t been updating this blog nearly as much as I used to, and that’s because I really have been insanely busy. Generally I wake up, do a bit of homework, go to class, then come home and do this:

IMG_0892

I eat in between, then do more homework, and end up going to bed at midnight if I’m lucky. There’s occasionally a small social event thrown in there, like a movie night or something, but no more than once every week or two.

I’m a busy bee.

I really have been trying to keep up on writing, but that requires mental energy—a lot of it—and college tends to sap that up by the end of the day. As always, I’m not going to stop writing anytime soon, but my rate is a little slowed down, to say the least. I’ll make up for it with a swamping of posts when I’m home for winter break.

For now, though, I do have to get ready for class. So, I’ll talk to everyone later, hopefully in a few days, when I post my first entry in this new pseudo-series.

Until then, have a great day!

P.S. Fun fact: Just like humans, British Cows moo in accents specific to their region. Who knew?

2 thoughts on “High School vs. College: Intro

Leave a Reply

