Better Late Than Never (Happy Birthday, Blog)

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, then to write for the public and have no self.”

–  Cyril Connolly

 

I think the first thing I should say in this post is that there is a 500-year-old statue of a man eating a sack of babies in Bern, Switzerland, and nobody is sure why.

Post a picture? Why, don’t mind if I do.

statue

The reason I started with that? Because the “platform” (if you want to call it that) of my blog was originally something like “hey, even if my posts are all awful, I’ll try to include random facts with them so you’ll have learned something.” And since I’m celebrating the first birthday of my blog, I felt like that was a good place to drop a random fact.

So, then. To the post!

Tonight I’ll just be talking about my blog. This can be a refresher for anyone who hasn’t read my stuff in a while (I don’t blame you, given my posting rate) and an intro for anyone just now stumbling across it.

I started my blog a year ago, plus a few days added in for how long it took me to find time to write this post. The actual anniversary is September 9th, but I’m putting this up on the 22nd.

tumblr_inline_mfnafcCqZz1rb6tql

The blog was named after my favorite movie, Super 8, and the topics I intended to blog about included writing, movies, and maybe the occasional ‘growing up’ schpeel.

Well, now here I am, one year later. I’ve gone from being at the start of my senior year to a kid who’s graduated high school and is settled into college. My blog topics went in a bit of a different direction than I originally intended. First, I wrote posts going through the steps of writing a book, something I was finishing up at the time. But then as I ran out of those, life kicked in, and I started writing about that. I outlined my last days of school, and my first full request from a New York literary agent.

So now, my posts—when I have time to write them—are more focused on growing up, with the occasional writing or movie commentary thrown in, as well.

I don’t have time to post as much as I used to. Let’s just talk about THAT for a second. For most of senior year, I posted on average 2-3 times a week, sometimes four. Over summer, ironically, I had less time. And now, I’m down to a few times a MONTH.

Yikes.

I wish I could promise it’ll get better, but really, it won’t. I hope everyone will still care enough to read what I can post, and I understand if you don’t. I started this thing with zero followers, and even if I hit that number again, I’ll keep writing. The activity of this blog might get knocked down a few notches, but it’ll never stop completely. I’ll always be here.

How have I changed personally, in the past year? Not that you really care, but I’ll go through it anyway. For starters, there’s the whole thing of me graduating high school, finishing my novel, and getting a full request from an agent. But I’ve also developed on a personal level. I came to appreciate everything high school has to offer, and learned to let it go. I dated a girl I never thought I’d get the chance to date, then broke up with her, then moved on. It’s funny how you can tell people about that kind of stuff and they’ll say, “well, it’s like it never happened at all,” when you know of course that’s not true at all.

I think that’s life, to go broad with the topic. It’s about staying YOU outwardly, but growing inwardly, and balancing all of that. In short: it’s about accepting you’ll change and thus resolving to change for the better. I’d like to think I’ve done that, though I also think I’ve changed less than most people do.

My writing, I think, is the same way: outwardly, it hasn’t changed much. My style was relatively solid when I started, and I think it still is. But the elements behind it have developed quite a bit. 

I’ve made a lot of new friends since last September, and quite a few of them have changed my life in major ways. I’m thinking particularly of my best friend, one of the most thoughtful, opinionated, supportive, unreliable people I know. Anyone know someone like that? They’re awesome, but the only thing they’re really consistent about is being inconsistent.

I’m not trying to insult my best friend. I’m trying to make a point, that being, all of those adjectives I listed, both good and bad, they form one interesting person. Talking to him and hanging out (or not hanging out because he never checked with his parents) definitely exposed me to a variety of feelings, especially that pesky one where you love someone like a brother and want to decapitate them at the same time.

That, combined with all the emotions of finishing high school and starting college…all of these have added depth to my writing in a way no one can really see, but it’s there, and I know it is. I guess that’s all that really counts, right?

Anyway, I’ll close by roping back to the main subject of tonight: this blog.

I promise to keep it going, however sporadic the posting will be. I’ll still review movies—both old and new—and talk about life as it comes. And I’ll most certainly keep it updated regarding my progress as an author.

After all, who knows where I’ll be a year from now?

Leave a Reply

