Way Too Fast (The Night before My First Day of Senior Year)

“Whatever happens tomorrow, we had today; and I’ll always remember it.”

–  David Nicholls

 

I wrote this on my last night of this past summer. Hopefully my writing has improved since then, but I still like this one.

 

August 21, 2012

I know for a fact that I’m going to be using the phrase “it went by too fast” more than a handful of times over the next year, so I’ll try and be conservative about it now. But even if I was only allowed three uses, I would spend one on this past summer.

This summer was my second favorite (first is 2009) for several reasons. First of all, I was PRODUCTIVE…I managed to finish all of my homework by July—a long-term goal of mine—and, later, two books. I traveled to Virginia for an amazing summer camp (a week of hiking), took a road trip to see my cousins who are now awesome, and got my driver’s license. The list continues, but those are the big ones.

Also: I had fun. While I didn’t hang out with my friends quite as much as I would’ve liked, we still saw some great movies, hung out and talked a decent amount, and snapped some great pictures involving a Red Robin milkshake, scotch tape with a mailbox, and a “No Trespassing” sign with three very good-looking trespassers in front of it.

The two highlights were, hands down, summer camp and my family trip. I won’t get into those, but they gave me some more than incredible pictures that I won’t be forgetting about or letting go any time soon.

So…what’s my point?

I don’t know. I guess it’s that I’ve done too much for this to have only been two and a half months. But in any case, I’m so grateful for the opportunities I’ve had, and I’m optimistic about the ones I’ll get in the future. A year ago, I couldn’t have predicted what 11th grade would bring, and back in June I couldn’t have guessed how amazing summer would be. So for now, that’s enough to let me say goodbye. Because I’m bursting with hope about Senior year of high school.

I’m all prepared for it, too. My backpack is packed, just as it was last year, and I went clothes shopping at JC Penny just like last year (though admittedly this time I drove myself, and my sister helped me pick out all the shirts I bought, so they might actually look good this year).

So…what else?

Tomorrow is the last time I’ll ever have a “first day of school.” That fact scared the bejesus out of me a couple months ago, but at this point I’ve gotten so immersed in that terrifying idea that I don’t think my brain is going to let me comprehend it until it’s long gone. My friends on Facebook have said similar things, and all I can be sure of is that everything will work out. It has so far.

Tonight, just to close off the summer, I got back from shirt shopping and popped in the finale of Legend of the Seeker, just like the night before my first day of high school. And like in previous years, I drank a big glass of root beer and toasted myself.

At the beginning of last year, I said “Here’s to right now.” And at the end of last year, I said, “Here’s to dragging it out.” Well, I’m running out of toasts, but I had one more tonight.

As the episode started, I thought to myself:

So. Tomorrow it happens.

To making it worth it.

I realized then that I could never come back to this moment. But maybe that was okay, because that made it all the more special. Then I drank as I blinked back tears and smiled.

Thank you to all of my friends and everyone who makes life worth living. To making it worth it.

To Senior year.

One thought on “Way Too Fast (The Night before My First Day of Senior Year)

  1. L. Marie says:

    I’m so glad you’re cataloguing these memories!

Leave a Reply

