If You Do This, You Annoy Me

“Sometimes you can’t tell if you’re just in a bad mood or everyone around you is being annoying.”

–  Unknown

 

Jumping right into the list here…I first noticed many of these behaviors at high school. Some of them are just minor personal irks, while others are irritating to the point of me wanting to throw something at a wall. I’ll be sure to specify on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being cringe-worthy or eye-rolling and 5 being you cause me actual anger. So, without further ado, here are (some of) the types of people who annoy me.

 

 1.  Girls who greet each other by screeching like banshees

Oh, goodness, girls (who do this), do you realize just how much everyone dislikes this habit? It’s not just that you’ve shattered our eardrums on the way to class, but you’re also filling an open school hallway with your completely unnecessary excitement at the fact that someone you see every day is still alive and healthy. If you get more excited at seeing your friends than I did when I found out I got into college, something might be wrong.

Annoyance rate: 2 out of 5.

 

 2.  People who cut in line

A good example of annoying behavior that extends past high school, though in the cafeteria is indeed where you’re most likely to find it. Believe it or not, I’m somewhat tolerant of this. If you see your friends at the front of the line and want to go talk to them, hey, I’m okay with that. Slip in line, it’s not a crisis. But that’s almost never how cutting works. In my experience, the majority of cutting is just flat-out walking up to the front of the line and squeezing your way in completely unannounced, without any sort of excuse.

I’ve had some notable experiences with this one. Last year, my friend and I were waiting in the lunch line when two tall girls busy texting walked up to a person near the front of the line, said “excuse me” in the nicest tone you could imagine, gently moved him aside, and stepped in front of him. They did this without a hint of irony or nastiness, as though it was completely normal behavior.

They did this every day of the school year.

Once, someone next to me said something. An unknown hero watched them cut as usual, then said really loudly, “Oh, yeah, go ahead and cut! I hope you realize everyone here is fantasizing how to hurt you right now.”

That’s one thing I won’t miss in college.

Annoyance rate: 3 out of 5.

 

3.  People with unnecessarily loud truck engines who speed through the parking lot

I think I should take this chance to say something on behalf of all high schoolers: speeding loud trucks, we don’t like you, nor your owners. No one has ever been walking through the parking lot, nearly gotten hit by a pickup louder than the Batmobile, and thought, man, that’s such an awesome ride! More like, you’re the reason I’m excited to get out of here.

Annoyance rate: 3 out of 5.

 

4.  People who aren’t on time

Don’t worry, this is a very minor complaint of mine. I understand people—especially if you’re dependent on parents to drive you places—can be five or ten minutes late showing up to something. If it’s a party, that’s even expected, out of politeness to the host. But if it’s an appointment, or scheduled session (like tutoring, practicing something or helping someone out), and you show up more than ten minutes late to that, I’m annoyed. I don’t have a good reason for that, it’s just one of my many opinions. It doesn’t inspire massive grudges in my book, but it is irritating.

Annoyance rate: 2 out of 5.

 

5.  People who don’t reply to texts or emails when a reply was implied/asked for

We’re descending into the deeper levels of irritation now. Again, I can be flexible on this one. If I’m having a conversation with you and it’s starting to lose energy, I understand if you stop replying. I’ll do that occasionally, though more often than not I end it by letting the person know I have to go.

BUT. If we’re in the middle of a conversation and I suddenly ask a question, be it Facebook messaging, emailing or texting, and you just flat-out don’t reply to it, that’s more than annoying. It’s frustrating. What, did you die in the past three minutes? If a question such as “what time do you want to meet up?” or something like that is SO uncomfortable that you can’t bear to answer it with dignity, then just let me know.

Annoyance rate: 4.5 out of 5.

 

6.  People who tail me when I’m driving the speed limit

Here’s how I see it on the road: if I’m going below the speed limit, be courteous and stay a comfortable distance. If I go below the speed limit for a ridiculously long time, I understand if you tail me. I won’t get mad at that.

But if I’m going exactly the speed limit and you tail me super close—like the gentleman yesterday, whose hood I literally couldn’t see in my rearview mirror due to how close he was—then I have no shame at all in slowing down a good 5 mph. I’m in no hurry, and if you try to make me angry because I’m driving safe, I’ll make you furious by driving even safer.

Annoyance rate: 4 out of 5.

 

7.  People who do this

BHFTDAsCAAAlMSt

I’ve already covered this one in a separate post.

 

8.  People who don’t follow through when they say they’ll do something

Ah, the best for last. That is, if ‘best’ translates to ‘one of the most annoying behaviors I can think of.’ Some people will probably be angry at me for this item, since it doesn’t fall under the category of behavior that does damage to my daily life, but it’s still top of my annoying list. If you say you’re going to make something for someone, or help with this project or that project, or write something, or pass on information for me, then either do it or let me know you can’t. I don’t even mind if you can’t, so long as you definitively let me know that instead of leaving me hanging. Most people who do this probably also fall into the category of item 6—not answering questions when asked over texting or email. Said people irritate me the most out of all groups.

Annoyance rate: 5 out of 5.

 

All of these, especially that last item, are tricky. The reason: because no one is perfect, and I don’t want anyone to think I misunderstand that. I’ve made these mistakes plenty of times myself, and I don’t become instantly enraged if someone else does.

It’s when this is someone’s behavior—as in, how they act all the time, so much that you’re thinking of their name as you read these descriptions. Then, I take issue. That probably makes me a simplistic idealist, and I’m fine with that.

So. I want to close this post on a semi-positive note, which is that I’ve learned something from spelling these out: that all of these behaviors go beyond high school. Alright, not exactly a bright and cheery note to go out on, but I did my best.

Okay, done now, promise! Hopefully I haven’t made it onto your ‘annoying’ list.

Yet, anyway.

2 thoughts on “If You Do This, You Annoy Me

  1. speakerforte says:

    I am sorry for all of the times I didn’t respond to your e-mails or didn’t go through with something. Please forgive me :(

  2. Dude, like I said, I don’t hold grudges! This was more just about all the things that irritate me, but like I said, no one’s perfect, myself included. No worries.

Leave a Reply

