Before My Last Week of High School

“Life is a succession of lessons, which must be lived to be understood.”

–  Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

The title of this entry is a little misleading for a few reasons. First of all, this isn’t technically ‘before’ my last week of school so much as ‘during.’ Second of all, this isn’t technically my last week of school, because I have Monday and Tuesday next week, with Tuesday being my actual last day ever. But, I’ll make do with these current circumstances. So, let’s talk last week of high school ever, shall we?

It’s strange. I’m the kind of person who often stops and thinks, “I wonder where I’ll be a year from now?” Though I can’t remember any specific times actually saying that, I know I have before. I probably said it in eighth grade, not being able to imagine what Freshman year would be like. I probably said it at the end of last year, wondering what right now—the end of Senior year—would feel like. And the reason this is strange is because right now, I’m feeling the one thing I didn’t expect to feel:

The same.

It hasn’t hit me yet that this is my last week of high school ever. Like with most experiences, the meaning of it probably won’t register until it’s over. Still, I feel obliged to blog about it.

I think part of the reason I’m not pumped or gripped with anticipation for the end of the year is because it doesn’t feel like it. For all the other times the school year ends, the teachers are taking down their posters, closing out grades, and reduced to showing us movies that are actually entertaining. But with the last day of school (for everyone else) scheduled to be June 13th, I’m still working in all of my classes.

That being said, I should feel something, right? For God’s sake, this is the last chance in my life to have a normal school day, with driving to school and having a daily schedule of classes and using a locker and packing a lunch and having nightly homework. These next seven days of school (this whole week plus Monday and Tuesday of next) will be the last seven times I have to do homework, or go to class on a daily basis, or move through the jam-packed hallways full of people. How can I not be feeling excited, or nervous, or something?

But, I’m not overly worried. I know that the rush of emotions will swoop in one of these days, and I’ll be sure to let everyone know when it does. The stuff that seems far away will be here before I know it: the class picnic, Graduation, my graduation party, the trip I’m taking with my friends the following week, etc.

Right now, though, I fall back on the attitude I take on quite a bit: the attitude of, ‘well, you don’t have to worry about that stuff being over, because it hasn’t happened yet.’ I took this on with Senior Prom, and I really do think that helped. I got the most out of my Pre-Prom stuff, had the time of my life at Prom, and I have no regrets about that weekend. It played out perfectly, which is a rare thing when it comes to memories.

So, anyway. My last week of high school is here, and I have exactly one project left in each of my classes. My grades could take the hit if I just didn’t do any of them, but I think I’ll try to work this week, for old times’ sake. There’ll be time enough to celebrate later.

I will up my blogging, however. In fact, I’m going to kick off the end of all this by blogging every day between now and the last day of school.

Surprised?

You read correctly. Like I said, I’m going to work extra hard this week, and that means firing up WordPress every day, with the posts all centered around high school. Here’s my planned blogging agenda (subject to change at the activity director’s notice, thank you for your cooperation, your call is very important to us):

  • Monday, May 13th (yes, I’m writing another post today): If You Do This, You Annoy Me (A post about the most irritating behaviors of high school students)
  • Tuesday, May 14th: Movie Review: The Island (my thoughts on the best movie I’ve ever watched in class, ever)
  • Wednesday, May 15th: The Personality Spectrum of High School Students
  • Thursday, May 16th: My Thoughts on the Office finale (since I more or less grew up with that show)
  • Friday, May 17th:) An Article I Wrote Before My First Day of 11th Grade
  • Saturday, May 18th: An Article I Wrote Before My Last Day of 11th Grade
  • Sunday, May 19th: An Article I Wrote Before My First Day of 12th Grade
  • Monday, May 20th: An Article I’ll Write Before My Last Day of 12th Grade
  • Tuesday, May 21st: An Article I’ll Write After My Last Day of 12th Grade

So, get ready for a crazy blogging week, everyone, and I’m sorry in advance for all of my posting.

I’ll close this by saying one last thing. Earlier, I mentioned that I often wonder where I’ll be in the future. So I think I’ll take this opportunity to do it again, on my blog this time: I wonder where I’ll be a year from now. One year today, on May 13th.

I guess we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

