Movie Review: Warm Bodies

“Why can’t I connect with people? Oh, right, it’s cause I’m dead. I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, I mean, we’re all dead. This girl’s dead. That guy’s dead. That guy in the corner is definitely dead. I have a hard time piecing together how this whole apocalypse thing happened, but it doesn’t matter. This is what we are now. This is a typical day for me.”

–  R

 

Warm Bodies PosterI think that before I review this movie, I should (re)describe who I am, so you know this isn’t a review from some love crazy teenage girl, nor a cranky adult whose favorite movies are historical documentaries. Nope, this analysis is brought to you by a teenage guy who saw the movie mostly because his female friends brought him along, but who ended up liking it more than he expected to. So here’s my objective opinion, more or less, of it. With minor spoilers attached.

The setup: zombie apocalypse, in a nutshell. Zombies have taken over almost everything, and amongst their ranks is R, a young adult who can’t remember any other letters in his name and can do little more than grunt or shuffle around. A few people from a healthy human colony go zombie hunting, including Julie, who is captured by R and brought to his makeshift home.

And then she eventually starts to like him, they run away, forbidden love, etc.

In terms of plot, it’s what you’d expect. Some movies, like National Treasure or Pirates of the Caribbean 1, use up their trailer footage by the first twenty minutes in and spend the rest of the movie surprising us with twists. Those are examples of good movies. This movie isn’t in that category, though that doesn’t necessarily make it bad. I’m just saying, don’t at all expect to be blown away by the storyline.

So what, then, is the value of this movie?

Well, it’s a good concept. The whole ‘zombie apocalypse’ premise isn’t exactly new, but the telling of it from a zombie’s perspective is a unique spin on it. And the minor touches such as the abandoned houses, the flash of a newspaper reading “President Infected,” or the concept of zombies acquiring their victims’ memories when they eat their bodies, are all good. If nothing else, I have to admit that this was quite well-made, adaption-wise.

And of course, the humor. No, I wasn’t laughing out loud the whole time; there were probably two or three lines that were more than snort-worthy. But please believe me when I say that it takes a lot for a movie to make me laugh (okay, except for Vampires Suck, but we all have our weaknesses).

In each of my reviews I try to include what my favorite part of the movie was, but nothing especially comes to mind here. As I said, the plot is nothing to faint in awe over. There are no scenes in particular that I would be tempted to re-watch, if given the chance. It was what I call a one-time watch, if not a quite decent one.

Sorry for the short review, but I’ll close it out by directly addressing those who are probably wondering most if they should see it: other teenage guys.

Hmm. I’m not quite sure what to say. If you were to ask me, my immediate response would be “no,” but I want to give that careful thought before I put it down on my blog. I mean, as I said above, this isn’t a bad movie. It just isn’t all that good. If you’re into zombie apocalypse flicks with interesting narrative voices, this is your ticket. But just know that you’re getting exactly what the trailers make you think you’re getting.

So I guess that’s my conclusion. If you saw the previews and liked them, go ahead and see this movie. And while I can’t really call it good, no movie that delivers on its promise can be considered ‘bad’ in my opinion.

Rate: 5 out of 10.

