“Wow” Moments

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.”

–  Unknown

 

To me, time is one of the weirdest things in life. You always think you have tons left…“oh, I have four years of high school. It’s going to take forever.”

And then, as the end of something—high school, in this case—gets closer, you start counting up in smaller amounts. “Oh, I still have six more months until graduation.” But then you realize that six months ago was June, the start of summer (only it couldn’t have been, because you remember it so clearly, like it was yesterday).

And you further realize that a year from now, you’ll be done with your first semester in college; except that’s way too fast, because you remember one year ago like it was only a few weeks earlier.

What’s my point in all this?

My point is that I can count way too many increments in my life. I might only be in the middle of 12th grade, but I remember all too easily when I was in the middle of 9th grade. And 10th. And 11th. And even back in 8th, when I didn’t yet have to worry about what it means to move on.

But we all need to eventually. And that’s why I do this so much: I look forward, talking about the future like it’s far away, because then when it gets here, I can at least tell myself I prepared for it. That’s still a lie, but a little less of one.

Which brings me back to why I’m writing this tonight, of all nights: because tomorrow evening, I’ll be hanging out with a bunch of my friends in a weekend trip I’ve taken every December since I was in sixth grade. And there’s a good chance it’ll be my last time ever doing so.

So, I’m being pre-emptive. I’m reveling in this moment when the awesomeness hasn’t started yet, so I don’t have to worry about it going away.

That might be a bad attitude, but it’s one I’m comfortable with. And that’s why from now until who knows, I’ll occasionally post about what I call a “Wow” moment…a day, event or instance that just deserves some of my written thoughts. One thing I’ve heard before is that you should only use exclamation points very, very rarely…that way, people will know you mean it.

That’s metaphorical, of course, but still true. So, whenever my life throws an exclamation point at me, I’ll be sure to post about it here. And now my biggest challenge will be not over-using this new tool.

So, I suspect my first use of it will be on Sunday, when I get back from my trip. I’ll look forward to posting then.

Chili Davis said, “Growing old is mandatory…growing up is optional.” I’ll do my best to keep the two going at the same pace.

Wish me luck.

