Blog Housekeeping (Blog-Keeping?)

“I think the pleasure of completed work is what makes blogging so popular. You have to believe most bloggers have few if any actual readers. The writers are in it for other reasons. Blogging is like work, but without coworkers thwarting you at every turn. All you get is the pleasure of a completed task”

 –  Scott R. Adams

 

“NOOOOOO!” you scream as you enter into the depths of my blog, only to find that every aspect of its appearance has changed. “Where…where’s the old color scheme? And the old font? And the neatly organized side bar?”

It is gone, my dear reader. GONE.

I know this is hard. But every blog goes through these things…nothing can last forever. I knew that going into it, didn’t I? There are just so many themes out there, and you think you’ve found the perfect one…but then, another comes along.

At first, you ignore this new theme. It’s nothing compared to the original, trusty theme you started with all those months ago. But then slowly, as the weeks go on, you realize how much better the new one is…and, when that happens, you do what you have to do to manage the relationship.

YOU DESTROY THE OLD ONE.

Just kidding! But you do shelve it away, as I’ve done. My old blog theme, “Neat!” was, in fact, quite neat. However, its replacement (“Dusk to Dawn”) offers so many more options for my blogging universe. I can now have tabs along the side, and sub-menus. Plus, this font is a lot prettier, too.

Speaking of sub-menus: you’ll kindly notice a few new things along the side. First, at the top is a brand-new tab called “About the 8.” Those who have been keeping up with my blog know well why it was named so, but for anyone who’s in the dark, I’d strongly recommend checking that tab out.

Also, if you scroll down from that, you’ll see that I’ve finally decided to put up my “tags” menu. I’ve tagged every post I’ve ever written, but I wanted to wait until I had enough to form a good menu. And this is the result.

So, then. All neat and tidy now, are we?

I realize this is a short post, and not particularly interesting, but I just wanted to take the time to reorganize. I’m about to finish the rewrite of my manuscript, and after a few rounds of editing, it’ll be as perfect as I can get it. And then comes…the literary agent process.

[Thunderclap].

And so will begin my posts about it. I’ll offer some commentary on the process of editing (as I can’t imagine I’m the only one who loathes it), and on all the joys of writing a query letter. Then the rejections begin, and so do my therapeutic posts to deal with them. You could do worse than to prepare for a storm.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

For now, though, I’m just enjoying everything I have. This blog continues to grow in readers (and followers!) and I’m eternally grateful for that. I promise to try to post about stuff you’ll be interested in, and to give back to all of you, to show you that your support isn’t wasted.

Such a valuable thing can be so easily overlooked, after all.

Cheers, everyone.

